1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Speak EV, the electric car forum for all EV owners and enthusiasts.
    Our aim is to create the best, most inclusive EV forum for all makes and models of electric car.
    We'd love for you to join up and join in. It's quick, simple and free! Join Speak EV.
    Dismiss Notice

Hello from Down under

Discussion in 'Ice Breakers' started by galderdi, Jan 11, 2017.

1. galderdi

galderdi New Member

Hi,

I have actually already posted a couple of times on the forum but only just realised I haven't done the introduction.

I have been competing in grass roots motorsport since 2005. But recently I built myself an Electric Vehicle (EV) from the ground up.

Engine: Advanced DC FB1 4001
    Exhaust: None
    Suspension: Home grown
    Wheels: Various (some Bob Jane specials and some Simons)
    Modifications: Everything from the ground up
    Stereo Audio / Visual: None
    Estimated Power: Power is not huge at around 75 KW but the torque is 440nm from 0 revs.

I know its not the usual ride you would expect to see here. I have built this car specifically for khanacross events. It weighs 530kg. Most of the running gear is from an N13 pulsar. It is front wheel drive and still has all 5 forward gears.

I also use it for Motorkhana and hill climbs but it is most suited to Khanacross.

I started the build in March 2015, it was driving by October 2015 and competing Feb 2016. It was very satisfying getting it done in that timeframe considering I built an entire chassis and implemented all the electric running gear. The only parts I didn't make myself were the adaptor for the flywheel, modifications to the flywheel itself and the bends for roll cage.

When I first built it the controller was a Curtis 1231C and the batteries were lead acid. Neither were up to the task so I have now upgraded them.