1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Speak EV, the electric car forum for all EV owners and enthusiasts.
    Our aim is to create the best, most inclusive EV forum for all makes and models of electric car.
    We'd love for you to join up and join in. It's quick, simple and free! Join Speak EV.
    Dismiss Notice

My first adventure

Discussion in 'General EV Discussion' started by Bri, Jan 8, 2017.

1. Bri

Bri Member

EV:
    Volkswagen e Golf
    Not as dramatic as the title, well almost, with yesterday being both interesting and insightful, and as I'm new to driving a BEV I think quite adventurous.

So, after mapping out a route taking note of charge stops along the way if needed I set off with a well charged battery showing about 100 miles or so.
    My first stop was after a 30 mile drive taking just under an hour with the destination being a shop, where I bought some savoury rice cakes and some of my favourite coffee. I'm a bit of a coffee addict and its been a while since I've had this particular bean and as it was in stock I can safely say the first part of this mission was a success.
    On to stop number two, which was a charge point location with the idea that I could charge for a short time whilst having a bite to eat (plus a coffee) and then on to visit a friend who lived nearby.

This was another 30 mile stretch which included a curiosity pass of a charge point that I know is renowned for being ICEd, but to my joy was found to be a vacant bay where I could have plugged in if desired.
    Upon reaching my planned stop I was confronted by two ICE vehicles in the spaces available for EV's, and just as I was taking a photo a member of staff appeared from the door of the kitchen with some refuse bags so I caught their attention and made them aware of the situation. I had an indication of around 20 miles driving and this charge up was going to be much needed.